Mock Trials

The Utah Mock Trial competition was established in 1980 to teach students their rights and responsibilities as citizens. Each year, volunteer attorneys write or adapt a legal case involving issues of interest to youth. A handbook containing established facts, signed affidavits, and other legal information regarding the case, along with the rules and information related to the tournament, is provided for all participants. Team members play roles of witnesses, attorneys, clerks, and bailiffs in courtrooms throughout the state.

The Mock Trial Competition is open to all public and private secondary schools in Utah. Each year, more than 1,000 students, 80 teachers, 350 attorneys, and 100 community representatives participate in over 110 mock trials statewide. The high school championship team participates in the national mock trial competition.

For further information, contact the Mock Trial Coordinator Victoria Dyatt at 801.322.1850 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

The 2018 Utah Mock Trial Season

 The 2018 Utah Mock Trial Registration form may be downloaded at

The 2017 Utah Mock Trial Season

In March 2017, the high school and junior high school championship rounds were held in the Court of Appeals Courtroom in the Scott M. Matheson Courthouse.  Integritas (below) was the championship team in the high school division with Wasatch Independent League of Debate, senior division, placing second.  Integritas participated in the National Mock Trial Competition in Hartford, Connecticut, in May.  In the junior high school division, Central Davis Junior High School was the championship team, with Wasatch Independent League of Debate, junior division, placing second.  Both state champion teams were honored at the Law Day Luncheon on May 1.

2017 Utah Championship Round:  Integritas vs. Wasatch Independent League of Debate, Senior Division; March 2017

Integritas 3

Elementary Mock Trials

Cases Available for Download

2017 Teachers and Schools

American Fork Junior High School, Claudia Dorsey
ASC Academy, Sophie Cutler
Centennial Middle School (2 Teams), Riley Hanni
Central Davis Junior High School (2 Teams),  Kevin Puzey and Susanne Kershaw
DaVinci Academy, Fred Donaldson
Dual Immersion Academy, Dezirae Pauga
Hillcrest High School (2 Teams), Dori Huang
Integritas (2 Teams), Suzanne Christensen
J. E. Cosgriff Memorial Catholic School, Martina Gehrig
Judge Memorial Catholic High School (2 Teams), Matthew Vanderiaan
Lakeridge Junior High School, Donnell Willey
Layton High School (2 Teams), Shauna Christensen
Legacy Junior High School (2 Teams) Amy Tauraa
Lone Peak High School, Robert Rios
Lumen Scholar Institute (2 Teams), Chris Jones
Midvale Middle School (2 Teams), Christiana Forbush
Mountain Crest High School, Kylie Funk
Mountain View High School, David Carpenter
North Davis Preparatory Academy (2 Teams), Tonya Andiarena
Paradigm High School, Maren Christensen
Reid School, Kathleen Barlow
Saint John the Baptist Middle School (2 Teams), Cheryl Phelps
Skyridge High School, Rachel Billings
South Summit High School, Sterling Draper
Springville Junior High School (2 Teams), David Hansen
Stansbury High School, Chad Jensen
Syracuse High School, Riley Davis
Syracuse Junior High School, Michele Swenson
Tooele High School (2 Teams), Patrick Ciervo
Tooele Junior High School (2 Teams), Patrick Ciervo
Wasatch High School, Ashley Painter
Wasatch Independent League of Debate - South (2 Teams), Ellen Burns
West High School (3 Teams), Laura Nava
Woods Cross High School (2 Teams), Brooke Gregg